Composition Residency 19/20

In the 2019 autumn, Linea set up a new composers residency program. Indeed, the work can not succeed if it’s only limited in the delivery of a work : the collaborative approach is essential. It consists in experimentation sessions, exchange and interaction between creators and performers. The performer has an eminently creative role here: he participates in the genesis, the conception and the realization of the Piece. This work implies availability and shared time. The goal of the residency for composers is to provide this time of creation. Residencies are now an essential tool for any creative process that involves to cross disciplines. The program of the residency consists in three work sessions in autumn, winter and spring with the musicians of the Ensemble Linea, in a laboratory context, with a different temporality from a classic production. Composers can take the time to test, experiment, correct, adjust the text in an original shape. The pieces will be created in the following autumn during a dedicated concert. The residency promotes composers living in the Région Grand Est in France. Two of the selected composers are in this case. This supports regional collaborations and cultural dynamisation of this territory.

Restitution concert will take place during 2020 fall

Selected composers for 2019-2020 are:

Guido Pedicone, Argentina

Guido Pedicone defines himself as well : “A curious and hybrid spirit, my interest in music, and art in general, inspires me to the symbiosis of styles. Evolving in multiple universes, I enjoy playing guitar, electric bass and electronic instruments in projects where others musicians have the same curiosity. I develop and interpret synapses between rock, metal, electronics, electroacoustics and visual art. The mix and the music play creates reactions and build my musical language, heteroclite and singular. “

Feliz Macahis, Philippines 

Composer and singer from Manila, Philippines, Feliz Macahis proposes a project where she questions the place of vocal sounds and its role in different performative situations. She wants to work with musicians with different natives languages in order to take advantage of each particularity of the languages.
Through her residency, she wants to study Filipino narrative patterns through the prism of Western music. She doesn’t know yet if it can work. This is also one of the interests of this residency: the possibility of being wrong.

Nicola Medero Larrosa, Argentine 

In an totally different approach and style, the young Argentinean composer living in Strasbourg offers Reading Otis – Static Memories Chapter II, for percussion, piano, accordion and electronics in real time. In this piece, he takes as a starting point the voice of singer Otis Redding to create “a sound morphology”. From there, Nicola’s idea is to resound the voice, via electronics, through the instruments and vice versa. As a result, he proposes to rewrite the piece I’ve been loving you too long, with this process.

COMPOSITION RESIDENCY

Résidence de composition

Linea a mis en place, à l’automne 2019, un nouveau dispositif de résidence de compositeurs. En effet, le travail entrepris ici ne peut réussir s’il se limite à la livraison d’une œuvre ou d’une partition « clés en main » : la démarche collaborative est essentielle. Cette démarche consiste en séances d’expérimentation, d’échange, d’interaction entre créateurs et interprètes. L’interprète a ici un rôle éminemment créatif : il participe de la genèse, de la conception et de la réalisation de l’œuvre.  Ce travail implique donc une disponibilité, du temps partagé. L’objectif des résidences de compositeurs est de procurer ce temps de création. Elles sont désormais un outil indispensable à toute démarche créatrice qui implique croisement et multi-disciplinarité. Le déroulement de la résidence est le suivant : trois sessions de travail réparties sur l’année, à l’automne, hiver et printemps avec les musiciens de l’Ensemble, dans un contexte de laboratoire, où la temporalité est différente de celle d’une production classique. Ainsi, les compositeurs peuvent prendre le temps de tester, expérimenter, corriger, ajuster le texte dans un format inédit. Les pièces sont ensuite créées à l’automne suivant dans le cadre d’un concert dédié. Les résidences mettent à l’honneur les compositeurs résidant en Région Grand Est, deux des sélectionnés étant dans ce cas. Ceci permet le renforcement des collaborations régionales et la dynamisation culturelle de cet espace.

Restitution à l’automne 2020

Les compositeurs sélectionnés pour 2019-2020 sont :

Guido Pedicone, Argentine 

Guido Pedicone se définit de la manière suivante : « Esprit curieux et hybride, mon intérêt pour la musique, et l’art en général, m’incite à la symbiose des genres. Évoluant dans des univers multiples, je m’amuse à jouer de la guitare, de la basse électrique et des instruments nés de la lutherie électronique dans des projets où mes camarades de jeu ont la même curiosité. J’élabore et interprète des synapses entre le rock, le metal, l’électronique, l’électroacoustique et l’art visuel. Le métissage et le jeu font réaction et construisent mon langage musical, hétéroclite et singulier. »

Feliz Macahis, Philippines 

Compositrice et chanteuse originaire de Manille, aux Philippines, Feliz Macahis propose un projet où elle questionne la place du son vocal et son rôle dans différentes situations performatives. Elle souhaite travailler avec des musiciens d’origines linguistiques différentes, afin de tirer profit de chaque particularité de la langue.
À travers sa résidence, elle souhaite étudier des schémas narratifs philippins par le prisme de la musique occidentale. Elle indique qu’elle ne sait pas encore si cela peut fonctionner. C’est d’ailleurs un des intérêts de cette résidence : pouvoir se tromper.

Nicola Medero Larrosa, Argentine 

Dans une approche et un style tout à fait différent de ceux de Macahis, le jeune compositeur argentin résident à Strasbourg propose Reading Otis – Static memories Chapter II, pour percussions, piano, accordéon et électronique en temps réel, pièce dans laquelle il prend comme point de départ la voix du chanteur Otis Redding afin de créer « une morphologie sonore ». À partir de là, l’idée de Nicola est de faire résonner la voix, via l’électronique, à travers les instruments, et inversement. De ce fait, il propose une réécriture du morceau I’ve been loving you too long , via ce processus.

RÉSIDENCE COMPOSITION