Ensemble Linea’s 17/18 season

A look at Japanese contemporary musical creation

Wednesday 28 March 2018, 8.00 pm, Opéra National du Rhin, Strasbourg

Musica

The Ensemble Linea, invited to the first edition of the Arsmondo Festival, offers you a concert of pieces from the repertoire of Japanese famous composers Toshio Hosaokawa, Misato Mochizuki and Tōru Takemitsu.

The concert will be followed by a meeting hosted by Eva Kleinitz dedicated to musical creation in Japan, with Sylvain Cambreling, conductor and music director of the Yomiuri Orchestra, Toshio Hosokawa, composer and Misato Mochizuki, composer (subject to their availability).

PROGRAM:

Toshio Hosokawa, Atem Lied
(bass flute solo)

Misato Mochizuki, Pas à pas
(accordion, bassoon)

Toshio Hosokawa,In die Tiefe der Zeit
(accordion, bassoon)

Tōru Takemitsu,Rain Spell
(flûte, clarinette, vibraphone, piano, harpe)

Toshio Hosokawa, Slow Dance
(flute, clarinet, piano, violin, cello, percussions)

CONFIGURATION:

Jean-Philippe Wurtz conducting, Marie-Andrée Joerger Accordion, Antoine Pecqueur Bassoon, Keiko Murakami Flute, Andrea Nagy Clarinet, Victor Hocquet Percussions, Reto Staub Piano, Geneviève Letang Harp, Marco Fusi Violin, alto, Johannes Burghoff cello.

Overseas IV

Ensemble Linea ‘s 2017 US Tour

OVERSEAS IV

After three Overseas tours in 2011, 2013 and 2016, Ensemble Linea returns to the United States for another season of concerts, exchanges and composition workshops.

This tour is especially meaningful because the Ensemble is being invited by the Buffalo State University, one of the earliest partners of Linea’s US tours, which has already welcomed the Ensemble three times. In addition, the ensemble will be continuing its collaboration with the American composer David Felder, whose “Partial [Dist]res[s]toration” piece Linea had performed in 2011. For this edition of the tour, Linea will have the honor of performing the world premiere of David Felder’s newest piece featuring the solo violinist Irvine Arditti.

PROGRAMM:

3 and 7 November 2017, University of Buffalo

David Felder, World premiere of a new work, for solo violin and ensemble.

CONFIGURATION:

Jean-Philippe Wurtz Conductor, Irvine Arditti Solo violin, Keiko Murakami Flute, Heidi Caillet Oboe, Andrea Nagy Clarinet, Geneviève Letang Harp, Reto Staub Piano, Marco Fusi Violin, Laurent Camatte Viola, Johannes Burghoff Cello, Sven Kestel Double bass.

Festival Musica 2017

Thursday 5 October 2017, 6.30 pm, France 3 Alsace Auditorium, Strasbourg

Musica

The concert presented by Ensemble Linea this year has strong ties with the Philippe Manoury Musica Festival Composition Academy with which it was associated in 2015. The program brings together two composition professors of the 2017 Academy, Philippe Hurel and Daniel D’Adamo (who also happens to be its artistic director and coordinator) along with Amadeus Regucera, who studied at the Academy in 2015. That same year, the festival commissioned Regucera to perform…and it is time to discover the results!

Premiered in November 2008 by Ensemble XXI, Frontières-Alliages (for 16 musicians) features Daniel D’Adamo’s refined orchestral sense in a composition based on improvisation: “every instant”, varyingly dilated, “becomes crucial”, allowing form to emerge gradually through the course of a composition which makes room for heterogeneous sounds to erupt in traces of metal, earth and wood.

Amadeus Regucera was a drummer in several bands and holds a PhD in composition from the University of California, Berkeley. This year his Torso of Air|Stapled Flesh will introduce Musica Festival audiences to an attempt at revitalizing the contemporary music concert experience, not through electronic methods, but rather by turning the spotlight back onto the musicians themselves. To this end, the composer conceptualizes their staging and even makes them speak, scream, moan and growl in addition to playing their instrument!

Lastly, Philippe Hurel’s Pour l’image (1986-88, for 14 musicians) combines an understanding of spectral music with the composer’s predilection for rhythmic variation. These two dimensions come together in a structure that moves quasi-organically from one sound situation to another, where the instrumental lines fuse and dissociate while remaining attentive to the traditional “return”: identifiable elements that the ear looks for in a musical work.

PROGRAM:

Amadeus Regucera, new work, world premiere

Philippe Hurel, Pour l’Image, 1986-88 (12’)

Daniel D’Adamo, Frontière Alliage, 2008 (18’)

CONFIGURATION:

Jean-Philippe Wurtz Conductor, Keiko Murakami Flute, Jean-Marc Foltz Clarinet, Heidi Caillet Oboe, Antoine Pecqueur Bassoon, Stephen Altoft Trumpet, Deepa Goonetilleke Horn, Thierry Spiesser Trombone, Remi Durupt Percussion, Victor Hocquet Percussion, Marco Fusi Alto violin, Winnie Huang Violin, Elodie Gaudet Viola, Elsa Dorbath Cello, Sven Kestel Double bass, Philippe Koerper Saxophone, Reto Staub Piano,

SEASON 17/18

Saison 17/18

Regard sur la création musical contemporaine Japonaise

Mercredi 28 Mars 2018, 20h, Opéra National du Rhin, Festival Arsmondo

L’Ensemble Linea, invité à la première édition du Festival Arsmondo, vous propose une soirée de découverte de pièces du répertoire des compositeurs japonais Toshio Hosaokawa, Misato Mochizuki et Tōru Takemitsu.

Le concert sera suivi d’une rencontre animée par Eva Kleinitz consacrée à la création musicale au Japon à laquelle participeront Sylvain Cambreling, chef d’orchestre et directeur musical du Yomiuri Orchestra, Toshio Hosokawa, compositeur et Misato Mochizuki, compositrice (sous réserve de leur disponibilité).

PROGRAMME :

Toshio Hosokawa, Atem Lied
(flûte basse solo)

Misato Mochizuki, Pas à pas
(accordéon, basson)

Toshio Hosokawa,In die Tiefe der Zeit
(accordéon, basson)

Tōru Takemitsu,Rain Spell
(flûte, clarinette, vibraphone, piano, harpe)

Toshio Hosokawa, Slow Dance
(flûte, clarinette, piano, violon, violoncelle, percussions)

DISTRIBUTION

Jean-Philippe Wurtz (Direction d’orchestre) Marie-Andrée Joerger (Accordéon), Antoine Pecqueur (Basson), Keiko Murakami (Flûte), Andrea Nagy (Clarinette), Victor Hocquet (Percussions), Reto Staub  (Piano), Geneviève Letang (Harpe), Marco Fusi (Violon, alto), Johannes Burghoff (Violoncelle)

Overseas IV

Tournée USA 2017 de l’Ensemble Linea

OVERSEAS IV

Après trois tournées Overseas en 2011, 2013 et 2016, l’Ensemble Linea revient aux Etats-Unis pour un quatrième cycle de concerts, de workshops de composition et de rencontres.

Cette tournée est particulièrement symbolique puisque l’Ensemble est réinvité par la Buffalo State University, partenaire de la première heure des tournées USA de Linea et qui avait déjà accueilli l’Ensemble à 3 reprises. Outre ce partenaire culturel, l’ensemble poursuit également la collaboration avec le compositeur américain David Felder, dont la pièce « Partial [Dist]res[s]toration » faisait déjà partie du voyage en 2011. Pour cette nouvelle tournée, David Felder fait l’honneur de proposer à l’Ensemble Linea une toute nouvelle pièce qui sera présentée en création mondiale et qui sera notamment interprétée par le violoniste Irvine Arditti.

PROGRAMME :

03 et 07 novembre 2017, University of Buffalo

David Felder, Nouvelle œuvre en création, pour violon solo et ensemble.

DISTRIBUTION :

Jean-Philippe Wurtz Chef d’orchestre, Irvine Arditti Violon solo, Keiko Murakami Flûte, Heidi Caillet Hautbois, Andrea Nagy Clarinette, Geneviève Letang Harpe, Reto Staub Piano, Marco Fusi Violon, Laurent Camatte Alto, Johannes Burghoff Violoncelle, Sven Kestel Contrebasse.

Festival Musica 2017

Jeudi 05 octobre 2017, 18h30 Auditorium de France 3 Alsace, Strasbourg

Musica

Le concert proposé cette année par l’Ensemble Linea entretient des liens profonds avec l’Académie de composition Philippe Manoury – Festival Musica, dont il fut en 2015 l’ensemble associé. Son programme réunit en effet les deux professeurs de composition de l’Académie 2017, Philippe Hurel et Daniel D’Adamo (qui en est par ailleurs le coordinateur artistique et pédagogique), à Amadeus Regucera, lauréat de l’Académie 2015. Le festival lui avait alors passé commande… l’heure est venue de la découvrir en création.

Créé en novembre 2008 par l’Ensemble XXI, Frontières-Alliages (pour 16 musiciens) met le sens orchestral raffiné de Daniel D’Adamo au service d’une écriture ici basée sur l’improvisation : plus ou moins dilaté, « l’instant devient un moment crucial », permettant à la forme de s’inventer au fur et à mesure de la composition et d’accueillir les matières sonores les plus hétérogènes, réminiscences de métal, de terre ou de bois.

Tout à la fois ancien batteur dans de nombreux groupes et docteur en composition de l’Université de Berkeley, Amadeus Regucera proposera ensuite au public de Musica de découvrir, dans Torso of Air|Stapled Flesh, sa manière de renouveler le concert de musique contemporaine en s’appuyant sur les musiciens eux-mêmes, à rebours des solutions électroniques – qu’il s’agisse de scénographier leur présence sur le plateau ou de les faire parler, crier, gémir, grogner… en plus de jouer de leur instrument !

Pour l’image de Philippe Hurel (1986-88, pour 14 musiciens) conjugue, enfin, les acquis de la musique spectrale au goût marqué de l’auteur pour la variation rythmique. Ces deux dimensions se combinent dans une écriture accompagnant le passage progressif d’une situation sonore à une autre, dans un va-et-vient entre fusion et dissociation des lignes instrumentales, toujours attentif à ce que l’écoute s’accroche au devenir d’éléments identifiables.

PROGRAMME :

Amadeus Regucera, nouvelle pièce, création mondiale

Philippe Hurel, Pour l’Image, 1986-88 (12’)

Daniel D’Adamo, Frontière Alliage, 2008 (18’)

DISTRIBUTION :

Jean-Philippe Wurtz Chef d’orchestre, Keiko Murakami Flûte, Jean-Marc Foltz Clarinette, Heidi Caillet Hautbois, Antoine Pecqueur Basson, Stephen Altoft Trompette, Deepa Goonetilleke Cor, Thierry Spiesser Trombone, Remi Durupt Percussions, Victor Hocquet Percussions, Marco Fusi Violon alto, Winnie Huang Violon, Elodie Gaudet Alto, Elsa Dorbath Violoncelle, Sven Kestel Contrebasse, Philippe Koerper Saxophone, Reto Staub Piano,

SAISON 17/18